The TRICARE Health Benefit Program is for all seven uniformed services (Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard, Public Health Service, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration). These individuals and their families are eligible for TRICARE:

Active-duty service members

Uniformed service retirees

Medal-of-honor recipients

Families of those who lost their spouse during active duty

Reservists activated for over 30 consecutive days

Uniformed service members and their families must be registered in the Defense Enrollment Eligibility Reporting System (DEERS) to be eligible for TRICARE. Uniformed service members are automatically registered in DEERS, but family members must be registered manually. Some TRICARE plans require consumers to enroll, while others are automatic. There are several options, so check out the TRICARE website to learn more.